Frequently Asked Questions

Here is a list of some of the frequently asked questions. If your question is still unanswered, please email us at support@storytruck.com

General

How does my Subscription work if I signup for a limited plan?
The app works like your local library. Your subscription plan determines how many books you are allowed to checkout each month. Let's assume that your plan allows you to checkout 10 books each month. Once you have checked out 10 books, you can no longer get any more books until the Next Exchange period. On or after the Next Exchange period, which is also shown on your Settings screen, you can return the current books in your My Library and checkout new ones from the Bookstore. You may return books from your My Library anytime but you won't be able to checkout new ones if your My Library is full or if you have reached your checkout limit. The Next Exchange period is determined based on your subscription date. For example, if you subscribed on May 12th, then your Next Exchange period will be June 12th. Remember that limited plans can only be signedup from the website.
How does my Subscription work if I signup for an unlimited plan?
When you signup for an unlimited plan, you can read as many books as you need each month. To read a book, you'll have to add it to My Library by tapping on the green + icon. You may remove the book from your library at any time and new ones.
How do I add books from the Bookstore?
To add a book from the Bookstore, tap on the green + icon found on the top corner of each book. If you don't see this icon, you are either not signed in or not subscribed. Please visit the Settings screen to see the status of your subscription and sign in. Your Subscription is valid and active if you see the following on the Settings screen.
  1. Subscription Plan: A plan name that you recently signed up to.
  2. Subscription ends on: A valid date in the future
If you don't see valid entries for the above, then your subscription hasn't gone through or has expired. Please see "I tapped on Subscribe and I saw a message about Parental Controls." FAQ below if you tried to signup as a new user.
Do I need an internet connection to access my books?
You'll need an internet connection to browse through books in Bookstore and add it to My Library. Once they are completly downloaded, you don't need an internet connection to listen to them.
Are the books being downloaded every time I listen to them?
If you listen to a sample from the Bookstore, they are being downloaded each time but if you are accessing a book in My Library, then you are downloading them only once and playing it from your local device henceforth.
Will I have access to the books once my subscription expires?
No. You will have access to the books for only as long as your subscription is active. All boks in your My Library (including the downloaded) books will stop working once your subscription expires.
I subscribed on the web via Paypal. How do I cancel my auto-renewing subscription?
If you subscribed from our website and chose a monthly recurring plan, you may cancel at any time by visiting the My Subscriptions page. Your subscription will be active till the end of the current billing cycle and your payment method will not be charged in the future.
Do I get a refund if I cancel my subscription?
No refunds are issued for canceled subscriptions. If you purchased via in-app purchase on the iPad, please see Apple's policy in the "IN-APP SUBSCRIPTIONS" section at http://www.apple.com/legal/itunes/nz/terms.html#SALE
How often do I get charged?
If you subscribed to a monthly plan, then your card will be charged every month. If you subscribed to a non-renewable plan, the billing happens only once and your subscription will not be renewed.
Who manages my billing?
Your billing is managed by iTunes if you made an in-app purchase.If you made a purchase on the website, then your billing is handled by Paypal. StoryTruck does not receive any credit card information from either iTunes or Paypal.

iPad Related

I subscribed from the app. How do I cancel my auto-renewing subscription?
Please see this knowledge base article on iTunes. http://support.apple.com/kb/ht4098
  1. From your device's Home screen, tap App Store.
  2. Tap Featured the bottom of the screen.
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the page.
  4. Tap the Apple ID button in the lower-left corner. (If you are not signed in, tap the Sign In button, and sign in with your Apple ID. Then, scroll back to the bottom of the page, and tap the Apple ID button.)
  5. Tap the View Apple ID button.
  6. Enter your password and tap OK.
  7. From the main account page, scroll down and tap Manage App Subscriptions. If you don't have app subscriptions this button will not be displayed.
  8. From the Manage App Subscription page on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod, tap the app that you would like to manage.
  9. Depending on the app, you'll have the option to manage different subscription categories.
What does the Restore option in the Settings screen do?
The Restore button is required by Apple to enable you to use your purchases on all your devices. Because StoryTruck manages your subscription information on the server side and will allow you to sync your library on all your devices by simply signing into the Service, the Restore button informs you of this feature.

Android Related

How do I subscribe? I only see a Sign In button
We are working to enable in-app purchase in Android. Until then, you can subscribe on our website and then use the login credentials on the app to download the books.